Answer to

Hand of the week commencing Sunday 12th October  2008    

 

 

Dealer East

ª

A 3 2

 

 

 

Neither Vulnerable

©

 J 8 5

 

 

 

 

¨

 Q J 7 3 2

 

 

 

 

§

 Q 10

 

 

 

 

 

N

 

 

ª

 J 9 8 7 6 4

 

 

ª

5

©

 K 9 4

 

W                          E

©

Q 10 7 6

¨

 A 9

 

 

¨

K 10 6 4

§

 6 4

 

 

§

K 7  3 2

 

 

 

S

 

 

 

 

ª

K Q 10

 

 

 

 

©

A 3 2

 

 

 

 

¨

8 5

 

 

 

 

§

A J 9 8 5

 

 

                           

W

N

E

S

 

 

 

NO

1§

 

2ª

3¨

NO

3NT    

NO

NO

NO

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Partner leads a ª7 and declarer wins first trick with dummy’s Ace and plays the §Q  plan your defence

 

Are you an automatic coverer of Honours ? If so you will hand declarer his contract here if you cover dummy’s Queen of Clubs with your King. If, however, you follow the rule “cover an honour with an honour ONLY if it can promote something for your defending side” then you will  not cover this trick. Dummy has just two clubs and you have started with four so if you calmly play low for two rounds you will come to your King by force. As long as you do not cover either the Queen or 10 of clubs  declarer will only make 8 tricks. Declarer can make only 3 Spades, 1 Heart and 4 clubs and has no other source of a ninth trick.

 

 

return to homepage